Ben started in 2007 as a welcome guest on the Dutch stages. Beside his own irish musicians he also has a Dutch band (Haarlem boys). Normally his cd's fall in the category" interesting but Ok". Till he decided to make this one in Nashville. This cd is not only by far his best cd, we can speak of "the candy of the month". Almost made within 3 days with Will Kimbrough, Tommy Womack & Garry Tallent from E Street band onboard. These 11 heavenly storming roots rocksongs sounds like the urgency of a hungry debutant who wants to win a war. And he sometimes can put the finger on the spirit of the age. Tough times... That's the Reel stuff. - 4/5 stars” - Herman Van Der Horst

— Lust for Life Magazine, Netherlands. The Nashville Calling review 2020

Irish singer and songwriter Ben Reel has never been afraid of varying his template over the years, and with nine albums to his credit, that easily accounts for a rich catalog that accommodates folk, country, reggae and R&B. He’s sometimes compared to Bob Dylan and John Hyatt in terms of his rich melodies and effusive approach, but even so, there’s little doubt that he’s also a singular artist and individual. His new album, The Nashville Calling, finds him firmly imbued in Americana firmament, and with such stellar sidemen as Will Kimbrough, Tommy Womack and Garry Tallent providing support, it finds him reaching a new pinnacle of perfection as well as offering his fans ample cause for renewed recognition. Reel is, of course, an astute instrumentalist, but here he also excels as a songwriter, and there’s not a single track that doesn’t immediately sink in tomake an emphatic initial impression. For those who are unfamiliar with his previous work, this is the place to begin. Dare we say it’s the “Reel Deal?”

Lee Zimmerman - Goldmine,The Music Collector's Magazine. U.S.A - The Nashville Calling review 2020

The Nashville Calling is the ninth album by Irish singer / songwriter Ben Reel. The Irishman has been making music for over twenty years and has built up a very respectable track record. Since his debut This Is The Movie from 1999 and his last album Land Of Escape from 2018, he has developed himself as a solo artist and together with his band he recorded this new album in Nashville in the span of just under three days! Musical outings. After the first thirty seconds of "All In Good Time" you know that this new album by the sympathetic Irishman will be fine. The pleasant mix of Americana, Folk and Country is immediately infectious in this opener and the inspiration of Springsteen's music is palpable. Then he switches to "Tough People", a song that is actually unexpectedly topical in this current difficult time (Tough times they never last, tough people do). On this uptempo song you get the feeling that the voice of Reel comes close to that of Roy Orbison. Every now and then the Irishman makes a musical outing, such as with the subtle and soulful "Like A Breeze", where a comparison with Paul Carrack may not be strange, and with the wonderfully swinging Rock "n Roller" New Jerusalem ". Excellent tire Of course we also find The Nashville Calling some quieter songs. Just listen to songs like "Broken" and "Fine Wine", which, partly due to the harmonica and the structure, are reminiscent of the small, personal songs of The Boss. "Safe And Sound" is not really a ballad, but an understated song in which Reel manages to create a certain intensity together with the participating session musicians. We also find a striking name among those musicians; Gary Talent from the famous E Street Band provides the bass part on this album. With the seductive "Round The Next Band", again with the modest but all-important role of Julieanne Black as the background singer, we probably mention the price track of this album. For example, the level on The Nashville Calling is consistently high and Reel proves to be in good mood with "Up There In The Sky", with a nice piece of guitar playing. Ben Reel closes with the beautiful "Borrowed Time", in which we also want to mention guitarist Will Kimbrough. Final verdict The eleven beautiful songs on The Nashville Calling make for a balanced album where the quality really drips. The enchanting mix of various music styles such as Folk, Americana, Soul etc. makes for a fascinating and varied album. The idea was to introduce the audience to this collection of new songs live during a number of performances in the Netherlands, but because all performances have been canceled until further notice, we (unfortunately) have to do it with the album for the time being. All in all a great production. Have fun listening. - 8.5/10 stars” - CORNÉ VAN GROENEDAAL

click here for Dutch translation - M Podia, Netherlands - The Nashville Calling review 2020

Ben Reel bears his influences on his album sleeve, acknowledging on the cover of The Nashville Calling that he’s a fan of Bruce Springsteen and becoming understandably gleeful that this, his 9th album, was recorded in Nashville with bass guitar duties taken by Garry W Tallant of the E Street Band. So it’s hardly surprising that the ghost of Bruce flits in and out of the 11 original tracks, as if he’s keeping a fatherly eye out. He’s there in the arrangements, some melodies and the style, although Reel’s voice never reaches the bombast of his working-class hero. So fans of both Bruce and Ben (guilty on both counts) should feel at ease here from the opener ‘All In Good Time’, born for a stadium singalong. ‘Tough People’ even slips in a 1-2-3-4 count, and it could be an anthem for these challenging times. “Tough times they never last, tough people do”, Reel sings in a lyric that also touches on bankruptcy, redundancy and greedy banks, the Troubles, and how to survive them. The croonsomely soulful ‘Like A Breeze’ glides smoothly along with a catchy melody. ‘New Jerusalem’ is a solid 12-bar floorfiller, while Reel’s harmonica on ‘Fine Wine’ will also strike a chord back in Asbury Park. But it’s not all Bruce. ‘Round The Next Bend’ is a seductive slow-mover, with Reel’s voice as deliciously expressive as Roy Orbison. The album ends with plaintively with ‘Borrowed Time’, also featuring Will Kimborough’s tasty electric guitar and harmony vocals from Julianne Black Reel. Her backing vocals bring much to the album, especially on the mid-tempo ‘Up There In The Sky’ which starts as a more introspective item but soon builds into a wailing rocker with gritty electric guitar from Kimborough. The Nashville Calling is arguably Reel’s most inspired album to date, and a useful reminder that no artist of merit creates in a vacuum. 7.5/10”

Jackie Hayden - Hotpress, The Nashville Calling review March 2020

Irish artist Ben Reel released The Nashville Calling, his ninth studio album, at the end of March. The plan was to promote the record with a month long tour of Holland and Germany, but the tour was cancelled when the world basically shut down due to the pandemic. Instead, he’s been promoting the record with live concerts streamed from his house each Friday on Facebook with his wife Julieanne. It’s a shame because this is his strongest album to date. Up until this year, Reel had never done a live virtual concert before. As to be expected, the concept of performing in front of an empty room is something that requires adjustments. “The first night I did it, it was very strange,” admitted Reel. “This was the first time I ever performed into a camera and it was live as well, so that was even harder. But I’m kind of getting used to it now - especially after a few beers.” The concerts take place at 9:30pm in Ireland, which means 4:30pm in New Jersey. Since Reel has played shows in many parts of Europe and a few shows in America, he’s got people tuning in from around the world. He can’t wait to perform in front of an actual audience he can see again, but realizes that may not happen for a while. “Who knows? It could be a long time before I can play a show in front of an audience,” said Reel. “Venues and bars are going to be the last things to come back. When things start coming back to the point where people can mingle a little bit, I might put it out that I’m available for garden parties or something.” The Nashville Calling was produced by Will Kimbrough and Tommy Womack and includes performances by both, along with Ben’s wife and Garry W. Tallent from the E Street Band on bass. It was recorded in Nashville in just three days. For a guy who often lists Bruce Springsteen as a major influence, playing with an E Street band member was a thrill. “It was amazing!” continued Reel. “I’m a big fan of Springsteen. He was my first inspiration actually. When I was 13, I went to see him at Slane Castle in Ireland. It was the first days of the Born In The U.S.A. European tour and I think it was the first time Springsteen had ever performed in front of a crowd that big. There were 100,000 people there and newspapers reported he freaked out a bit when he came out in front of that audience. But it was a great show. When I saw Bruce at Slane, I was hooked. I said, ‘I want to be like him!’ So to be in the same studio as Garry Tallent, I had to pinch myself a few times. I mean, he’s a member of the E Street Band! But he was very down to Earth and is a great musician.” Years after the Slane concert when Springsteen played a pair of shows in Kilkenny in 2013, Reel’s band did four shows (two each night Bruce played). They were billed as Ben Reelsteen and performed sets of Springsteen songs. He laughs remembering that the promoter made posters calling it the “Me Balls Are Wrecked Tour” to contrast with Springsteen’s Wrecking Ball Tour. “I always thought it would have been funny if Bruce had seen that poster!” said Reel. Recording in Nashville is special for any musician, but also very workman like. Reel says it was like going to the office. They’d work from 10:00am to 6:00pm and sometimes a bit later. It was a tight schedule - two days tracking and one day for overdubs and backing vocals - but Reel liked the process and the end result. Many critics are writing this is his most complete album and he tends to agree. Reel is located in Northern Ireland, although he doesn’t recognize it as its own country. He refers to his area as the “occupied six counties.” Since his town is near the border of Ireland and Northern Ireland, he often performs shows throughout the south in places like Dublin, Cork, Kilkenny, and Galway. He has a good fanbase in the Netherlands and Germany, so losing that initial tour for the new album was a big blow. He’s also been to Nashville several times and has even performed at the legendary Bluebird Cafe on a number of occasions. Some of the music writers in Europe have wondered about the title of the album since the music on The Nashville Calling isn’t traditional country. It’s clear they haven’t paid as close attention to Nashville as an artist like Reel has. In the past two decades, roots music and even alternative rock bands have begun calling Nashville home as well. The Nashville Calling was intended to mean that he felt a calling to go to Nashville. Looking back, Reel wonders if he might have made a mistake with the title. “I’m actually mad that I didn’t call it ‘All In Good Time’ which might have been a good title,” said Reel. “Or ‘Round the Next Bend’ - there were a few strong titles that I could have called the album.” Both of those titles are songs on the album with the former being the song that kicks off the record. New Jersey Stage first learned of Ben Reel several years ago from a service called AirPlay Direct, which the publication uses as one of the sources of music for its online radio station. Reel has released several of his albums with them. It’s also helped him make contacts around the world for radio and press coverage. We instantly took a liking to Reel’s music, which reminded us of the music by Joe D’Urso. Not surprisingly, the two have crossed paths in Europe. “I met Joe more than ten years ago in Ireland,” he recalled. “I did a Light of Day show with him once, but didn’t hear from him for years. Then last November I did a Light of Day show again in Dublin. Vini Lopez was on that show, so I got to meet Vini. He told a few stories about being on the road with Bruce. I actually got to play ‘Growin’ Up’ by Springsteen with Vini on drums. I couldn’t believe I was playing with the original drummer on that song.” While live performances with his band are on hold, Ben Reel has been putting digitally remastered recordings of live concerts from over the years for sale on his website. These “live bootlegs” are available for download per concert or by individual songs. “I’ve only put them up now because I had a lot of shows from the past which I didn’t have the chance to mix or have time to mix,” explained Reel. “So during this lockdown period, I went in and mixed a lot of the stuff - just to put up on the website for people to download.” As of this writing, Reel has bootlegs available from a 2007 concert recorded for RTE Radio 1; a performance from a brewery in Monaghan, Ireland in 2008; a show from 2012 recorded at De Waag in Haarlem, Netherlands; and two shows from his “Land of Escape” tour in April 2018: one recorded at Cafe Studio in Haarlem, Netherlands and the other recorded live for radio show Crossroads.nl in Bergen on the last day of the tour. Artists always want to believe their latest record is the best they’ve ever created, but The Nashville Calling just might be Ben Reel’s best. Even though the record is somewhat stuck in limbo due to the cancelled shows, he will never forget the making of this album. “It couldn’t have gone any better,” said Reel. “The whole experience and the trip over there was amazing. The guys were incredible. I mean, there are guys walking around Nashville with t-shirts that say “Will Kimbrough is an alien” and he bloody is an alien! I’ve never seen anybody as talented as him in the studio. It’s bonkers how good he was. I’m very proud of it and I’m glad I did it. It cost me a lot of money to do, but fuck the money, it was worth every penny!” ” - Gary Wien

Gary Wien - New Jersey Stage Magazine, USA - The Nashville Calling interview 25/05/2020

Admittedly this writer was drawn to Irish roots rocker Ben Reel when learning that the album was produced by Will Kimbrough and Tommy Womack. Then, Reel’s voice just took over – so soulful, so confident and such a perfect complement to his poetic lyrics. And, when Garry W. Tallent’s (E-Street Band) name appeared as bassist, it sealed the deal, just had to listen to the whole album. The Nashville Calling needs to be heard beyond just a small circle of Nashville’s Americana clan or music journalists. These are songs that helped Reel escape the strife in Northern Ireland. These are songs about the resilience and the brave. They could be soundtracks and theme songs for the first responders in our current health pandemic, although, of course, they weren’t written for that reason. As Womack says about Reel, “Blessed with a vision and his tremendous voice, he gets inside his words and music and makes magic.” The album was recorded in just three days, all with live takes. In addition to Kimbrough and Womack on guitars, Tallent on bass, Evan Hutchings did the drumming while Reel’s wife, Julieanne sang backing vocals. Reel has been called “The Irish Springsteen” and when listening to tracks such as the opening “All in Good Time” and the closer, “Borrowed Time,” the resemblance is uncanny. Tallent must have been doing double takes during the sessions. In troubadour tradition Reel addresses the world and how it needs to stop looking at the past in “New Jerusalem.” In “Imagination,” he begs the world to think outside the box with problem-solving. Ben gets romantic as well, with songs like “Fine Wine” and “Like A Breeze,” like conversations that might take place in the kitchen or on the back porch under the stars. And, to be fair, he sounds like others besides Springsteen on some tracks, absorbing Memphis soul, Texas swing, and early rock n’ roll. Reel, as many may know, is no newcomer. The Nashville Calling is Reel’s ninth album, throughout a successful 20-plus year career that has carried him through the years, between Europe, Canada, and the U.S. Since his debut album This Is the Movie back in 1999, Ben has reinvented himself from record to record, influenced by different styles of music over the years. As one critic said, “He’s not afraid to throw in some in folk, soul, reggae vibes, which in turn call to mind John Hiatt at his best.” Ben’s last effort, Land Of Escape, had him exploring social and cultural issues that Americana-UK called “intelligent” and “slow-burning.” The album is chock full of great songs, melodically, lyrically and of the gut-punching variety too. One of the standout tracks is “Up There In The Sky,” the video for which was filmed at an Irish boxing club using black and white film. The song is all about grabbing life by the horns, taking chances and above all, having the self-confidence to do so: “Everybody’s got one moment in their life/When all the stars align/Everybody’s got one title shot/When all the luck is on your side/When you’ve got that hunger in your heart/And you know it is your time/ And you’ve been touched by the hand of God/And you glow like a blinding light” His heart-wrenched vocal in “Safe and Sound” is chill-inducing. He becomes a convincing crooner on “Round the Next Bend” where his voice, reaching notes like Roy Orbison, blends beautifully with Julieanne. Another great lyrical song is “Broken” where the lyrics hearken back to his time in Ireland. Sounding like Dylan with his harmonica and opening lyric – “Broken people, broken homes, broken nose, broken bones” and later “Hard times come; hard times stay/Some folks know no other way /Struggling just to get through this hard day/Struggling most their lives away” Reel is a native of Silverbridge, South Armagh, in Ireland, and soon after high school at the age of 17, he started his musical career in 1989 performing and songwriting with the local band, Trim The Velvet, before going solo in the late nineties. He first picked up the guitar when he was fifteen years old, inspired by the realness of the likes of Springsteen, Van Morrison, and Neil Young, whose music struck a chord that resonated deep into Reel’s psyche. Reel proudly wears these comparisons on his chest when it comes to his approach to performing and writing. One of the most exhilarating moments of being a songwriter is to write with your fellow artists, and Ben has a legendary list for himself. Amongst them are Hal Ketchum, Ian Dury and the Blockheads, Tony McLoughlin, Irene Kelly, and the late great David Olney. Over the past decade, Ben has toured in Ireland, UK, Europe, and the U.S., building a growing loyal fan base. He will occasionally perform as solo or duo with his wife Julieanne or with his Dutch band `The Haarlem Boys,’ but mainly he plays with his Irish band Ben Reel Band. Reel has all the ingredients of the best roots rockers – swagger, attitude, heart and a way with words. And, his voice is so much better than most. Listen up.”

Jim Hynes, Glide Magazine U.S.A - The Nashville Calling review 2020

A collaboration between Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen is an interesting thought that BEN REEL has been maintaining in theory for more than 20 years. In practice, the Irish songwriter is an advocate of Roots Rock and Americana and is always looking for his home port between the two artists just mentioned, sometimes with a focus on jazzy basic structures, sometimes driven by bluesy thoughts, but always very emotional and moving. On his ninth album "The Nashville Calling" the range goes even further. Folk, R&B and isolated reggae parts are part of the colorful smorgasbord of current inspiration, which Reel has preserved with a calm and serenity that is infectious. The Irishman is passionate about it, especially in the ballad-like moments of "The Nashville Calling", in which he never bulges too much. In between there is the finest rock'n'roll, a little country and finally a few cross-references to the work of Neil Young, who is also one of Reel's most valued role models. Nevertheless, there is one thing that lasts: Those who love Dylan and Springsteen will also love BEN REEL and finally "The Nashville Calling" - there is no need to say more! (BB) 11 points”

— Legacy (music magazine), Germany. The Nashville Calling review 2020

The Irish singer-songwriter, musician and producer Ben Reel from Silverbridge, South Armagh seems to us to be just about the most unrecognized top artist of the past two decades. Since his debut album "This Is The Movie" from 1999, he has released one great album after another. More or less it is actually impossible to conclude about the albums "Lost In A Haze" from 2001, "Sweet Victory" from 2004, "New Horizon" from 2007, "Time To Get Real" from 2009, "Darkness & The Light ”From 2013,“ 7th ”from 2015 and“ Land Of Escape ”from 2018. After having been active for ten years, he also brought his best songs from that period 1999-2009 together on the beautiful compilation album“ 10 ”. Nobody should be surprised that we are very pleased to hear that a completely new album by Ben Reel is coming. "The Nashville Calling" is the title of the eleven beautiful songs containing the ninth album that, as the title suggests, was recorded in Nashville, Tennessee. The producers of this record, which is almost completely recorded live in just three days, are the living Nashville legends Will Kimbrough and Tommy Womack. They also play along with the songs sung by Ben Reel: Will Kimbrough on guitars, piano, melotron, mandolin and dobro and Tommy Womack on electric guitar. Both have also provided backing vocals, while the Bruce Springsteens' "E Street Band" bass player Garry W Tallent played the bass guitar and Evan Hutchings the drums and his lovely wife Julieanne Black Reel took care of the female backing vocals. The velvet voice of Ben Reel sounds superb in the eleven self-composed songs inspired by Americana and country rock rhythms that can be heard on "The Nashville Calling". It all starts with the uptempo song "All In Good Time" and the exceptionally easy-to-hear "Tough People" that reminds us of the sound of supergroup "The Traveling Wilburys". In terms of voice we find Ben Reel occasionally close to the late Roy Orbison. We hear that especially in the ballads on this album, songs such as "Safe And Sound", the wonderfully emotional pearl "Round The Next Bend" and the two harmonica-inspired songs "Fine Wine" and "Broken". Furthermore, it is also immeasurably enjoying the first single released song "Up There In The Sky" (see video) and album closing "Borrowed Time". Ben Reel will present the new songs from the album "The Nashville Calling" live in March and April together with his best older work during a series of performances that unfortunately will only take place in the Netherlands. At many of those shows he will be accompanied by his Dutch band "The Haarlem Boys" who will then take over the task as instrumentalists from his Irish group "The Ben Reel Band". If you had the opportunity to attend one of those shows, we can highly recommend a visit to such an event.” - Freddie Cells

click here for Dutch translation - Rootstime, Belguim - The Nashville Calling review -March 2020

Singer-songwriter of Irish origins but with American friendships and a love not too hidden for the sounds that nourished him from overseas, Ben Reelhe had his "call" thanks to the intercession of his friend Tommy Womack. For those who frequent the slums of the rock of the roots of the other Nashville, the name of the latter could say something, to the others it is enough to know that Womack picked up the phone on one evening in January 2019, while Reel was in tour in Salzburg, and he proposed the idea of ​​a record to be recorded in the country capital, with a crowd of excellent musicians available. Packed up, our Ben took the ball: it doesn't happen every day to have Will Kimbrough's guitars around (from Todd Snider to Grayson Capps to a thousand others, a name that matters a lot in the lap and also with a discreet solo career), In three days, at the Skinny Elephant Studios in Nashville, with the production of the same couple Womack-Kimbrough, they recorded eleven original songs that do not reinvent anything but still spin the wheel of that rock'n'roll that smells of country, of soul, sometimes even tempting the more jaunty pop guitar sound card. On the other hand, Ben Reel made a little apprenticeship and it seems to me that the job is all there: he has been around for twenty years, he made his debut in 1999 with This Is the Movie, has played far and wide between Europe and the States, sharing the stage with David Olney, Eric Andersen and Tommy Womack himself, and some songs have also placed it on national radio and BBC. Above all, it boasts a voice that keeps it up, with strength and dignity, while the compositions convince, with the right electric vibrations, starting from the heartland rock of All in Good Time , that it could be in the company of all those outiders who have chosen the beat of the street as a reason for living. It was the turn of the more easy-going rhythm of Tough People , which reminded me of the late Greg Tropper, another adopted son of Nashville, while Safe and Soundhe chooses a minor and more dramatic tone, with a beautiful vocal interpretation of Ben Reel and the choruses of his partner Julieanne Black Reel and an always incisive work by Kimbrough, which is divided between guitars, organ, electric piano. Like a Breeze promises what it says in the title, it is light and soulful, a bit funky, and it goes well with the melody of Immagination , although our Irish expatriate offers the best of his sample in the drama of Up There In the Sky , a ballad urban rock with bluish tones, which opens up to a match full of folk perfumes. The harmonica is added to the roots dress of Fine Wine, while Broken and Borrowed Time are a twilight match in Tennessee, where rural fragrances emerge, with dobro and mandolin interventions. A song came true, Ben Reel says, and with The Nashville Calling he seized his opportunity: perhaps he did not return to Ireland with a masterpiece in his hands, but a handful of honest songs, played with the right spirit, this certainly.”

Davide Albini, Roots Highway, Italy - The Nashville Calling review 2020

In the Netherlands, Ben Reel has built up quite a reputation in the past two decades, mainly thanks to the many live performances that he gave here. Like Gregory Page, he now knows the roads in the Netherlands better than many Dutch people. It is not surprising that on the day of the release of his ninth album The Nashville Calling he will be promoted in the Netherlands. As always, his albums never disappoint. Alternately, the beautiful predecessor Land of Escape was a bit more subdued and a little less rootsy than we were used to from Ben. Ben went to the Skinny Elephant Recording Studio in Nashville to record his latest album. For the production he could call on Will Kimbrough, one of the best musicians in America, which also applies to co-producer Tommy Womack. In addition, he had bassist Garry Tallent, known for the legendary E Street Band. The album was recorded live in the studio in just three days. The uptempo opener All In Good Time immediately makes it clear that Ben has made a more Americana and rootsy album, on which almost all songs contain the backing vocals of lady sweetheart Julieanne. And as we are used to from Ben, his singing is always full of passion. The Nashville Calling is yet another wonderful addition to his expanding body of work, fans probably know enough.”

Theo Volk, Music that needs attention (NL) - The Nashville Calling review 2020

With his lines “Tough times they never last / tough people do”, Ben Reel apparently foresaw the current crisis period. The singer / songwriter from Armagh / Northern Ireland recorded the current album with a band in Nashville. It is already his ninth and was recorded "like live" within three days, which also comes across as lively. Experiments are avoided and the style sounds familiar. You can hear folk rock with an Americana touch, whereby the fine, unobtrusive guitar solos play a major role. The strong voice, Ben Reel's trademark, reminds me of his compatriot Van Morrison. The album with eleven self-written tracks is one piece makes you happy and builds up. (küc)”

— Folkmagazin, Germany - The Nashville Calling review 2020